Haughton Lecture

The Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland Silver Medal is presented to a distinguished clinician or engineer who has made a significant contribution to the field of bioengineering through academic endeavour and research. The recipient delivers the distinguished Samuel Haughton Honorary Lecture at the annual Bioengineering in Ireland conference. This year’s Silver Medal recipient is Professor John O’Byrne, Consultant Orthopedic Surgeon, Mater Private Hospital, Dublin.


1995 James M. Sheehan, PhD, FRCSI, Blackrock Clinic, Dublin 2006 David Taylor, PhD, ScD, CEng, FIEI, Trinity College, Dublin
1996 John O’Connor, PhD, University of Oxford 2007 David E. Beverland, MD, FRCS, Musgrave Park Hospital, Belfast
1997 Pierce A. Grace, MCh, FRCSI, University of Limerick 2008 Patrick J. Prendergast, PhD, Trinity College, Dublin
1998 Annraoi M. de Paor, DSc, MRIA, University College Dublin 2009 Frank Gannon, PhD, Director General, Science Foundation Ireland
1999 Michael . M. Stephens, MSc (Bioeng), FRSCI, Mater Hospital, Dublin 2010 Clive Lee, MD, PhD, FRCSI, FRCSEd, CENG, FIEI, HRHA, RCSI
2000 Tony M. Keaveny, PhD, University of California, Berkeley 2011 Peter E. McHugh, BE, ScM, PhD, CEng, FIEI, NUI Galway
2001 Moira O’Brien, FRCPI, Trinity College Dublin 2012 C. James KirkPatrick, MD, PhD, DSc, FRCPath, FBSE, Mainz University
2002 John F. Orr, PhD, Queen’s University Belfast 2013 Richard Reilly, PhD, MRIA, FRAMI, FTCD, Trinity College Dublin
2003 R. McNeill, DSc, CBE, FRS, University of Leeds 2014 Dr. James E. Coleman, BSc (Anatomy), MCh, FRCSI, MBA
2004 Neville Hogan, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 2015 Tim McGloughlin, B.E.(Mech), MEng Sc, Ph.D., University of Limerick
2005 Alexander W. Blayney, MCh, FRCS, FRCSI, Mater Hospital, Dublin 2016 Prof. Timothy O’Brien, National University of Ireland Galway
2017 Prof. David Fitzpatrick, University College Dublin 2018 Prof. Fergal J. O’Brien, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

2019 Haughton Medal Recipient: Professor Dennis McGonagle, University of Leeds

2020 Haughton Medal Recipient: Professor Suzanne Maher, Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) Research Institute, New York, USA

2022 Haughton Medal Recipient: Professor Daniel Kelly, Trinity College Dublin

2023 Haughton Medal Recipient: Professor John O’Byrne, Mater Private Hospital, Dublin