Update: As you may all be aware, there is considerable uncertainty around the Covid situation in Ireland for December/January 2022 and the potential impact on our conference is very hard to predict at present. For this reason we are monitoring the situation, and also investigating the possibility of rescheduling the conference if needed. We hope to be in a position to clarify this further in the near future.

The National University of Ireland Galway is delighted to announce that the 27th Annual Conference of the Section of Bioengineering of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland (BinI 2022) will take place at the The Galmont Hotel, Galway, Ireland from Friday 21st – Saturday 22nd January 2022.

Bioengineering in Ireland began in 1995, with a small interdisciplinary meeting of engineers and clinicians in Tulfarris, and ran annually until the last conference hosted by Trinity College Dublin in 2020, which had over 170 delegates sharing their science and showcasing the excellent Biomedical Engineering research from the different universities and colleges of Ireland.

Government restrictions prevented us all from meeting as originally planned in Galway in 2021. But this means that extra time has been devoted to planning BinI 2022 and also that our community will have 2 years of exciting research findings in biomechanics, biomaterials, medical device design, tissue engineering, regenerative medicine and imaging to share.

The BinI 2022 will award the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland (RAMI) silver medal to the Haughton Lecturer, and the RAMI Bronze medal to the presenter of the best paper at the conference. The annual Engineers Ireland Biomedical Research Medal competition for PhD research will also take place in conjunction with the conference. Reflecting the importance of young researchers and graduate students presenting their work, there are a number of additional student prizes.

We look forward to re-engaging the social networking aspects of the conference that we have missed over the last two years.

BinI 2022 Local Organising Committee

  • Professor Laoise McNamara (Chair)
  • Dr. Ted Vaughan
  • Dr. Meadhbh Brennan
  • Dr. Kevin Moermann
  • Dr. Eimear Dolan
  • Dr. Eoin McEvoy
  • Dr. Andrew Daly

BinI 2022 Student/Postdoc Committee

  • David Symes
  • Vatsal Kumar
  • Anneke Verbruggen
  • Dr. Vincent Casey
  • Dr. Syeda Masooma Naqvi
  • Dr. Neelima Thottapillil
  • Dr. Elzbieta Ewertowska