Bioengineering in Ireland 2022


The National University of Ireland Galway is delighted to announce that the 27th Annual Conference of the Section of Bioengineering of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland (BinI 2022) will take place at the The Galmont Hotel, Galway, Ireland from Friday 20th – Saturday 21st May 2022.

Bioengineering in Ireland ran annually since the first conference in 1995, starting with a small interdisciplinary meeting of engineers and clinicians in Tulfarris, until the last conference hosted by Trinity College Dublin in 2020, which saw over 170 delegates come together to share their science and showcase the excellent research that is being conducted across the different universities and colleges of Ireland.

Government restrictions prevented us all from meeting as originally planned in Galway in 2021. But this means that extra time has been devoted to planning BinI 2022 and also that our community will have 2 years of exciting research findings in biomechanics, biomaterials, medical device design, tissue engineering, regenerative medicine and imaging to share.

The BinI 2022 will award the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland (RAMI) silver medal to the Haughton Lecturer, and the RAMI Bronze medal to the presenter of the best paper at the conference. The annual Engineers Ireland Biomedical Research Medal competition for PhD research will also take place in conjunction with the conference. Reflecting the importance of young researchers and graduate students presenting their work, there are a number of additional student prizes.

We look forward to re-engaging the social networking aspects of the conference that we have missed over the last two years.

BinI 2020 Local Organising Committee

  • Professor Laoise McNamara (Chair)
  • Dr. Ted Vaughan
  • Dr. Meadhbh Brennan
  • Dr. Kevin Moermann
  • Dr. Eimear Dolan
  • Dr. Eoin McEvoy
  • Dr. Andrew Daly

BinI 2020 Student/Postdoc Committee

  • David Symes
  • Vatsal Kumar
  • Anneke Verbruggen
  • Dr. Vincent Casey
  • Dr. Syeda Masooma Naqvi
  • Dr. Neelima Thottapillil
  • Dr. Elzbieta Ewertowska